32nd Golden Disk Awards

The 32nd Golden Disk Awards was held on January 10, at the KINTEX Center.

Here’s the list of the winners from day 1 of the award show:

  1. Best Rock Band – Hyukoh
  2. Best New Artist – Wanna One
  3. Best R&B/Soul – Suran 
  4. Best Girl Group – GFRIEND
  5. Best Boy Group – BTOB
  6. Bonsang (given to multiple artists) – BLACKPINK, Heize, Bolbbalgan4, Akdong Musician, TWICE, BIGBANG, WINNER, Yoon Jong Shin, Red Velvet, IU, BTS
  7. Digital Daesang (Grand Prize) – IU (“Through the Night”) 

Touching speech by IU

IU who won the daesang for the digital category also spoke of the late Jonghyun in her speech. IU said, “To be honest, I’m still very sad. I sent off someone that was precious to me as a person, as a friend and as an artist to a very far away place. I think I partly understand why he was in such pain and suffered so much, it’s not an emotion that I’m completely unfamiliar with.”

She ended her speech by saying, “Artists are people who are supposed to console others, but I hope they will take care of themselves first as they are people too and console themselves so they don’t get sick and hurt while they are trying to hide these things.”

We sincerely congratulate the winners!

Photo credit: Golden Disc official website

Leave a Reply